The National Association of Schools of Music (NASM) Commission on Accreditation voted to continue SMU’s membership in good standing at its June 2013 meeting.

Congratulations to everyone who was involved with this re-accreditation process, especially Michael Charron (Dean of the School of the Arts) and Janet Heukeshoven (Chair of the Music Department). In addition to all of SMU’s curricular music programs receiving approval (BA Music, Music Performance, Music Industry and Music Education), the Minnesota Conservatory of the Arts achieved approval for listing as a Community Music School as well. Achieving and maintaining national accreditation in music assures current and prospective students of high quality and current academic experiences in music.  NASM accredited schools are leaders in the areas of music teaching, performance and research throughout the United States. The next formal NASM accreditation visit will be during the 2020-2021 academic year.

Print Friendly